over anyone in custody who is serving a sentence intermittently. The board has authority to impose the conditions under which the parolee or inmate under mandatory supervision will live in the community. The board has responsibility under the Criminal Records Act to make recommendations to the solicitor general concerning applications for pardon.

The National Parole Board comprises 26 full-time members appointed for a period up to 10 years by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the solicitor general. Temporary members may be appointed for terms not exceeding one year to substitute for full-time members or to assist the board with unusually heavy case loads. Representatives from police forces, local governments, professional associations, trade unions, or community associations in the five regions of Canada serve on regional panels as community board members. They are designated by the solicitor general to act as regular board members when release is being considered for inmates convicted of murder, or inmates serving sentences of preventive detention as dangerous offenders, habitual criminals or dangerous sexual offenders. The board reports to Parliament through the solicitor general.

National Research Council of Canada (National Research Council Canada). The National Research Council (NRC) is a Crown corporation established by Parliament to undertake, assist and promote engineering and scientific research in furthering Canada's development. The council operates 11 laboratory divisions as well as the Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information.

A governing council of 21 members, drawn from across the country and appointed by the government, provides the overall supervision and direction to NRC's research programs and policies. Particular projects are undertaken by the council's laboratories at the request of, or in consultation with, federal government departments, provincial and municipal governments, industry in Canada and other organizations or groups in the public or private sector. The council initiates research projects deemed to be of special importance to Canada and devotes approximately 25% of its intramural research effort to promising basic and exploratory research. Extramural research is given toward ensuring that maximum national benefit acrues from the research undertaken extramurally with council support. Methods have been developed for transferring technology to industry and to the public sector, and for the publication and diffusion of research results and technical information. NRC reports to Parliament through a designated minister.

National Revenue, Department of (Revenue Canada Customs and Excise; Revenue Canada Taxation). From Confederation until 1917, customs and inland revenue acts were administered by separate departments. In 1917 the federal government passed the Income War Tax Act, as a temporary measure, administered by a commissioner of taxation attached to the finance department. The national revenue department was established in 1927 with two separate components, taxation and customs and excise. Each of these components under one minister operates with its own deputy minister and departmental organization.

The customs and excise component is responsible for assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of federal sales tax and excise taxes. The taxation component is responsible for assessment and collection of taxes under the Income Tax Act of Canada (RSC 1970-71-72, c.63 as amended) as well as contributions under the Canada Pension Plan Act and premiums under the Unemployment Insurance Act. Under an agreement with the provinces, the taxation component assesses and collects corporate and individual income tax for most of the provinces. Quebec, Alberta and Ontario administer their own provincial corporate income tax and Quebec its own individual income tax and the Quebec Pension Plan.

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. The council was established in 1978 as a Crown corporation under the terms of the Government Organization (Scientific Activities) Act, 1976 (SC 1976-77, c.24) and reports to Parliament through a designated minister. The council is composed of a president, a vice-president, and 20 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. It promotes and assists research in the natural sciences and engineering other than the health sciences and advises the minister in respect of such matters relating to such research as the minister may refer to the council for its consideration.

Northern Canada Power Commission. The commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1948 (RSC 1970, c.N-21) to provide power to points in Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the act was amended in 1950 to give the commission authority to provide similar services in Yukon. The name of the commission (formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission) was changed in 1956. It is composed of a chairman and four members appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Of the additional members, one each is appointed on the recommendation of the commissioners of Northwest Territories and Yukon.

Northern Transportation Co. Ltd. NTCL is a Canadian company, incorporated under federal legislation and continued under the Canada Business Corporations Act. It is a proprietary Crown corporation. Except for directors' qualifying shares, all of the issued and outstanding shares are held by the minister of transport